My Isang Araw Lang Takbo Para sa Libreng Kolehiyo Experience

Just One Day Marathon for Free College Education –

It is the first time in my entire life to wake up at 2:55 am on a Sunday. Usually it is the day of the week I get up from bed late. But January 31, 2010 marked another milestone in my life. This day is no ordinary! I’ve witnessed the force of goodwill occupying the grounds of SM Mall of Asia.

As early as 1 am, while I am still asleep, I have been receiving text messages from friends who were in the venue waiting excitedly for the event to commence. Around 3 am, a friend called me saying that the check-in booths started to operate. Mom grabbed the keys at 4 am and her passengers, us, parted ways to register to our corresponding run category.

My younger sister and brother have ourselves registered by 5:02 am. And tell you, the crowd gets thicker every minute. Eavesdrop made me amused when somebody said that an unofficial winner has been said to finish his 21K course in an hour or so. Whatttt??? I wonder if it was like a jaguar-chase-me experience! (Or maybe a professional runner) Cool!

We did some stretching (by imitating pros adjacent to us). While waiting for the “green” category’s official start, I and my siblings decided to roam around. We saw UNTV37 team on stage entertaining runners that are waiting for their turn. They had some games and total fun interacting with their audience.

We crossed the Sea Side Blvd/ esplanade area and decided to sit there. The bright full moon is really beautiful. It’s reflection to the bay looks like a satin fabric of my sister’s silver gray satin dress. We took some rest and went back to the marathon area around 6:30 am.

The time has come for the three musketeers. We went to the sea side corner marked as STARTING LINE. Clock struck at 7 am. My brother shouted, “This is it! Call me when you feel something.” My sister and I both laughed and said, “You might call us instead!” He said that in every 500 metres there is drinking stations and computing it. We thought we need to surpass six water stations.  Some parts of our course became walkathon due to many 3K runners trying to occupy the race area.

I should say, I’ve enjoyed being with them. It was definitely a bonding for us. They were dying busy on school. While my work seems to love me that much that it eats up most of my time a day – this Isang Araw Lang event somehow gave us a chance to enjoy the fun together.

Five minutes before eight o’ clock we reached the “Finish Line”. Hooray! Sweaty morning made us realize that this has to happen again. Fun! Fun! Fun! 😀

Past nine, we assembled ourselves for the “Isang Araw Lang’s Ceremonial Run”. But then again it became a walkathon due to the crowd. I exchanged smiles with strangers and hellos to friends. Weeh! 🙂

Oops… I almost forgot before I say goodnight, I’ll share –
I tried to interview some guests and participants (like us) here’s what they said about the Just One day Marathon for Free College event :

Sana marami pang ganitong project si Kuya Daniel. Buong pamilya maghihirap at magpapawis pero masaya at may mabuting dahilan kung bakit magkakasama. (I hope that Kuya Daniel will spearhead more projects like this. My whole family’s running and perspiring but we are all happy because we all know the great reason behind our being here today.) – Phil, 45

Bonding, bonding talaga. Pati hindi magkakakilala nagngingitian. (Everybody’s bonding. Even strangers couldn’t help but smile at each other.) – Imee, 23

Sa dami ng tao naging walkathon na tuloy. (With the volume of people, this marathon became a walkathon!) – John, 19

Pang bata, pang matanda, babae, lalake, bading, tomboy, lahat pwede ang saya! Masaya na, makakatulong pa! (It’s really a fun charitable activity for all sexes!)  – Manong, 52

Hindi kasi normal magassemble ng ganung karaming tao kakaiba ang mga energy at kita mo mga ngiti nila. (It’s very hard to assemble such a great number of people. Their energy is amazing – it shows in their smiles.) – Pam, 30

See, I am not the only person who’s happy that day. Kuya Daniel Razon’s project has marked something different to the history – fun for a noble cause. Thank you Lord for making this day great more than I thought it would be!

I’ll share some pictures tomorrow. Cable to transfer where are you?  Haha.

Friends, I am waiting for some post event news, the number, how many participated, hey, can somebody tell me? Please tell me.

Have a good week ahead,
~Angela

13 thoughts on “My Isang Araw Lang Takbo Para sa Libreng Kolehiyo Experience

  1. Gumawa ng bagong rekord ang Pilipinas sa pagkakaroon ng pinakamaraming lahok sa isang pakarera sa kalsada.

    Kinumpima ni Breakthrough and Milestones Productions International Incorporated/UNTV 37 chairman/chief executive officer Daniel Razon, na umabot sa 50,500 ang lumahok sa isinagawang Kahit Isang Araw 21K/10K/5K/3K/1K/300 Meter Takbo Para Sa Libreng Kolehiyo paalis at pabalik sa SM MOA grounds sa Pasay City kahapon ng umaga.

    Aniya, sinira nito ang halos 44,000 sumali sa 40th New York City Marathon noong Nobyembre sa Estados Unidos.

    “Ang nailak po na­ming pondo mula rito ay kukumpleto sa pinatatayo naming 10-storey building na paaralan sa Balintawak, Quezon City na inaasahan naming mabubuksan sa Abril.”

    Isang 1-2 finish ang hinulma ng Kenyans na sina Williy Tanui, kakahari lang sa Cebu Marathon noong Enero 10, at Kemba Kiberess sa tampok na Open men’s half-marathon sa 1:14:00 at 1:14:28 clockings na may kalakip na P30,000 at P20,0000, ayon sa pagkakabanggit.

    Isinalba naman ni Alley Quisay ang pagkasa ng mga Pinoy sa pagtersera sa 1:19:06 para mapabilang sa winners podium at P10,000 cash bukod pa sa medal din.

    Sa women’s division, si Miscelle Gilbuena, 21, na nagreyna sa 2009 Philippine International Marathon, ang namayagpag sa 1:40:04 sa pagdomina sa mga karibal para masakote rin ang P30,000. Sumunod sina Annaliza Vargas (2:11:10) at Vanessa Napay (2:12:07).

    Pinarangalan din ang top three winners sa side events na kinabibilangan nina Alquin Bolivar, Elmer Sabal at Crifrankreadel Indapan sa mga lalaki at sina Nhe Ann Barcena at Luisa Raterta at iba pa.

  2. How I wish I was there to witness such a successful event for such a noble cause. Thank you for blogging about this. This made my day.

    Here’s to hoping for more charitable projects to surface and help save a country surrounded by greed and corruption.

  3. I think the one who won the 21km course was the Kenyan guy . Every time he passes by, we try to catch up with him; we only last for 5 seconds or so. Hahaha. The fun part was whenever someone gets tired, a fellow runner cheers them up to reach their goal. 🙂

  4. I ran for 5k and every time me and my brother walks to rest for a minute, there are people suddenly shouting our names to run faster (we felt we are fired up that we can also run for 10k). It was so fun especially when you think of the beneficiaries of the marathon 🙂 Hope there could be another one like this.

  5. Great and one inspiring event once again from Daniel Razon of UNTV. His advocacy for change is really inspired and an eye-opener for many many people – politicians, philanthropists, and to every Filipino citizens that change is not far when there is determination and good examples set.

  6. Willy Tanui, a Kenyan professional Runner said to have reached 21k in an and 14 minutes. He previously championed a 21k run in Cebu last Jan. 10….

    when i saw him, i know his physique is built for it.

  7. grbe!xuuuuupppppeeeeerrrr xxxxxaaaaaaayyyyyaaaaa!!!!!nang ISANG ARAW TAKBO PARA SA LIBRENG KOLEHIYO!!!!wooooooohhhh!!!!power khit mejo nka2pagod at mejo xumakit ang mga paa…xaya prin @ power prin…zsana maulit tong 3vent nah toh….woooohhhh!!!!

  8. It was more than what I have thought! 😀
    Those updates just shows how fruitful the event has been. Same wish as yours… may such activities led by Kuya Daniel grace this country!

    Hope you can add me in your blog roll,
    Angela

  9. i was there!! ITS ANEW EXPERIENCE FOR ME DAHIL FIRST TIME KONG MAKASALI SA GANITONG EVENT .1:00 PA LANG NG UMAGA BUMIYAHE NA KAMI PARA MAKA PAG REGISTERED NG MAAGA AT MAKASALI SA MARATHON.NAKAKATUWA. I JOINED THE 1 K RUN AT NAG ENJOY NAMAN AKONG TUMAKBO KASAMA NG NAPAKARAMING ‘K.APATID NA SUMALI.ISANG MATAGUMPAY NA PROYEKTO NA NAMAN SA PANGUNGUNA NI BRO. DANIEL RAZON. SALAMAT SA DIYOS!!

Leave a Reply

