An Almond Leaf Made Me Think…

1:00pm power desk…

A good date today, 7th of October 2008! I was looking at the mirror to check if things go well with the powder that I’m wearing after drying my face from quick wash. I was really horrified at first when I saw a silvery strand saying hi with other black strands in my head. Just then I recalled what a close friend told me, “Gray hair means wisdom”. But still I’m trying to convince myself that it was untrue. I kept on telling myself, “Don’t mind it you are just hungry, grab a bite to get away with that silly thought”. I left my workstation and decided to have a break. The verdict! While on the lift (seemingly mirrors were calling me to look closer), I found out that it was really true, gray hair strand on my head!

Most people were used to utter these words “Natatakot akong tumanda” (I am afraid to get old) and I guess that’s how I felt AT FIRST! Imagine, it was yesterday when my obligation is just to finish what’s on my plate and wait until mama comes for her ‘pasalubong’ (surprise gift or treat). But know, who would have to thought that my decision would matter a lot whether the solution is ready for certification or not? Who would have thought that I would need to go through the technicalities? Who would have thought that I would need to weed out risks and go through a lot of contingencies? – Things that made me stop for awhile and made me realize that I’m not getting any younger.

Gray hair is true as proved written in the scriptures…

Ecc 12:3 In the day when the keepers of the house shall tremble, and the strong men shall bow themselves, and the grinders cease because they are few, and those that look out of the windows be darkened, Ecc 12:4 And the doors shall be shut in the streets, when the sound of the grinding is low, and he shall rise up at the voice of the bird, and all the daughters of musick shall be brought low;

Ecc 12:5 Also when they shall be afraid of that which is high, and fears shall be in the way, and the almond tree shall flourish, and the grasshopper shall be a burden, and desire shall fail: because man goeth to his long home, and the mourners go about the streets:

Am I taking the right path and serving my purpose? Am I supposed to be afraid or should I ready myself to the next level?

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

